Week 1, Day 4

As much as I really wanted to run today, I thought it would be better to do some cross training.

Over the years I’ve done a lot of weight and cardio programs, including P90x. This time I have decided to keep it simple. I don’t want to go to a gym, and I’m tired of fiddling with free weights all the time. Since I’ve let the strength training slide for a couple of years I decided to start out with a bodyweight routine. I found a very simple and quick one at Nerd Fitness. It’s just 6 exercises:

  • 20 squats
  • 10 pushups
  • 20 lunges (10 each leg)
  • 20 dumbell rows (10 each arm) *I use a dumbell but Steve at Nerd Fitness uses a gallon jug.
  • 15 second plank
  • 30 jumping jacks

He recommends 3 circuits, but today I just did 2 and I’ll probably pay for that tomorrow – especially from the squats!

I hope this is something I’ll be able to keep myself doing. The last time I trained for a race I ignored the cross training. As demanding as a half marathon is, I figure I need to be as fit as possible.

This entry was posted in Cross Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

